A man was baffled after he logged on to his online banking and discovered he had a mystery £1.25 million in his account.

Shocked Kieran McKeefery’s bank balance had been boosted by an incoming cash transfer of £1,245,000

After mulling over what he could spend the cash on, the the 21-year-old South Yorkshire web designer phoned his bank Natwest and asked them to investigate.

Bank bosses could only tell him the enormous bank-to-bank same-day payment had come from a huge investment company and it was up to their bank to take it back.

It was an 10 days before the company retrieved the cash – leaving Kieran with a bonus £204 of interest.

Honest Kieran, from Barnsley, said: “I checked my online banking and immediately I noticed I had £1.25 million in the bank.

“I was a bit fazed at first. It was such a copious amount of money to be in my bank.

Kieran McKeefery who was shocked when he found �1.25m in his bank account ( thestar.co.uk)

Kieran McKeefery who was shocked when he found 1.25m in his bank account ( thestar.co.uk)

“It was very strange and quite scary when you are in that position, checking your bank to see if £1.25 million is in there.

“I didn’t know what to do, except just wait and think about all the things I could have spent it on.

“I thought ‘oh god, what has happened’ – I was a bit shocked more than anything else.

“I called the bank and they said they would look into it.

“I was kind of tempted to spend the money but I had read stories about people spending money mistakenly placed in their accounts and getting in trouble.

Natwest said they would alert the payee’s bank of the mistake – but that it was up to them to take it back.

Over the next 10 days he called his bank in a bid to speed up the move, but it was not until February 6 the cash disappeared, leaving him with £204 interest.

“The interest was pretty good really and they haven’t asked for it back,” said Kieran.

News sources – http://www.thestar.co.uk/news/shocked-barnsley-man-discovers-1-25million-in-his-bank-account-but-doesn-t-spend-it-1-7170496