Reflection of the Eritrean UK Festival 2013    
By Tsighe Andemariam  

As an Eritrean living in London the Eritrean festival is an event that I attend and enjoy yearly.  On completion of this year’s festival at Lea Valley on July the 14th of 2013, I had left the event re-assured and very satisfied which is the reason for this article.   
The festival was too big for me to give a full coverage report instead I am going to share with you my reflection on the parts I enjoyed the most and has made greater impact on me.   
In general I have sensed a huge leap in the organisation, participation of different age groups including non Eritrean participants.   
Normally it is very difficult for any family in the west to be able satisfy kids Diaspora family with cultural values. On the contrary during this festival, When I compare to all the Eritrean previous festivals in UK, this year kids are visibly seen appreciating and celebrating their Eritrean culture. It made feel very proud of My Eritrean Identity.  
I thank God for allowing me to witness this event.        
 
People were working hard almost all unpaid, and you expect them to be tired but instead they were glowing with joy and love of the motherland Eritrea. There was clear demonstration of Love, unity and care to one another.   
As if we have purposely have timed it, my family and I arrived at the same time as the VIP guests and senior officials from Eritrea. Hence I was able to share the warm reception. Young and old gathered to welcome them, made it more like an Eritrean wedding with music, smile, joy and people were dancing with green leaves on their hands as it is customary during Eritrean weddings.   
The opening ceremony was held in the field with lots of tents of various sizes, rather like the way it is celebrated back in Eritrea. There were a range of singing and drama performances with the focus of the motherland and the Eritrean flag.  For more Click Download